List of participants (Heads of Delegation)


 Australia The Honourable Karen ANDREWS

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Industry and Science

 Austria Dr. Harald MAHRER

State Secretary,
Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy (BMWF)



 Cambodia H.E. Mr. THAVRAK Tuon

Secretary of State, Ministry of Planning

 Canada H.E. Ms. Michelle D'AURAY

Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD

 Chile Dr. Francisco BRIEVA

President of the National Commission For Scientific and Technological Research (CONICYT)

 Colombia Ms. Yaneth GIHA

General Director of the Department of Science, Technology and Innovation (COLCIENCIAS)

 Costa Rica Dr. Marcelo JENKINS

Minister of Science, Technology and Telecommunications

 Czech Republic Dr. Arnost MARKS

Deputy of Vice Prime Minister for Science, Research and Innovation

 Denmark  Mr. Frej SORENTO DICHMANN 

Special Advisor,
Danish Agency for Science Technology and Innovation (DASTI),
Ministry of Higher Education and Science

 Estonia Mr. Jürgen LIGI

Minister of Education and Research

 European Union Dr. Jack METTHEY

Director, DG Research and Innovation (RTD)

 Finland Mr. Petri PELTONEN

Head of the Enterprise and Innovation department of the Ministry of Employment and the Economy (MEE)

 France Mr. Roger GENÊT

Director-General for Research and Innovation (DGRI), Ministry of Higher Education and Research

 Germany Dr. Georg SCHÜTTE

State Secretary,
Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

 Greece Dr. Evi SACHINI

Director of the National Documentation Centre (EKT)

 Hungary Dr. József PÁLINKÁS

President of the National Research, Development and Innovation Office

 Italy Dr. Stefania GIANNINI

Minister of Education, Universities and Research

 Japan Mr. Hakubun SHIMOMURA

Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology

  Mr. Shunichi YAMAGUCHI

Minister of State for Science and Technology Policy

 Korea Dr. Yanghee CHOI

Minister of Science, ICT and Future Planning

 Lao PDR Mr. Houmphanh INTHARATH

Vice-Minister of Science and Technology

 Latvia Ms. Mārīte SEILE

Minister for Education and Science

 Lithuania Mr. Marius SKARUPSKAS

Vice-Minister of Economy



 Malaysia The Honourable Datuk Wilfred MADIUS BIN TANGAU

Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation

 Mexico Lic. José Rogelio GARZA

Vice-Secretary of Industry and Commerce

 Myanmar H.E. Dr. Ko Ko OO

Minister of Science and Technology

 Netherlands Dr. Luuk KLOMP

Deputy Director, 
Innovation and Knowledge Department,
Ministry of Economic Affairs

 New Zealand The Honourable Steven JOYCE

Minister of Science and Innovation, 
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

 Norway Mr. Torbjørn ISAKSEN

Minister of Education and Research

 People's Republic of China Mr. Jianpei XU

Deputy Secretary General, 
Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST)

 Poland H.E. Dr. Krzysztof MAJKA

Ambassador of the Republic of Poland to the Republic of Korea

 Portugal Dr. Nuno CRATO

Minister for Education and Science

 Slovak Republic

Director General,
Innovation and Business Environment Section,
Ministry of Economy

 Spain Dr. Carmen VELA OLMOS

State Secretary for Research, Development and Innovation, Ministry of Economy and Competitiveness


 Sweden Dr. Mats JOHNSSON

Senior Advisor and Deputy Head of Unit for National Research Policy,
Ministry of Education and Research

 Switzerland Dr. Mauro DELL'AMBROGIO

State Secretary for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI), 
Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER)

 Thailand Dr. Pichet DURONGKAVEROJ

Minister of Science and Technology



 United Kingdom Dr. Agnes ESTIBALS

Deputy Director for Knowledge and Innovation Economics, 
Department for Business Innovation and Skills (BIS)

 United States Dr. Jo HANDELSMAN

Associate Director for Science, White House
Office of Science and Technology Policy



Business and Industry Advisory Committee (BIAC) Dr. Richard JOHNSON

Chair, BIAC Technology Committee

Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC) Dr. Roland SCHNEIDER

Senior Policy Advisor

International Council for Science (ICSU) Dr. Gordon McBEAN

President of the International Council for Science (ICSU)

World Bank  


Inter American Development Bank (IADB) Ms. Nuria SIMO VILA

General Manager and Chief Information Officer